France, Aug. l, 1918

Dear Emma;-

You will think I am an abandoned brute, not to have written to you for 3 days. I shall explain the reason to you when I go on leave. I have your two letters of July 24 & 26 respectively . The latter and one from Margaret came to hand yesterday. There was no mail of any kind for me to day. Please excuse this official stationary. It is all I have with me.

The weather has been quite hot and dry lately i.e. for the past 3 days. The sky looks somewhat as though it might rain to night. House flys are becoming very troublesome around billets.

You may have gone from Roehampton House by now. I think you said you would leave to day. Not knowing what your new address is to be I shall mail this to Roehampton. I see by the paper to hand this afternoon that the King & Queen were down to visit your institution.

I have just returned from having a swim in the river. It is the first real swim I have had for over a year. It did not take much of it to tire me for my wind is poor and the current in the river is fairly stiff.

The old lady at the house where I am billeted called my attention this morning to the fact that the war had been going on quatre annees. It is hard to realize that the thing has been in progress that length of time. I am very glad that you consented to marry me before the conclusion of hostilities. Otherwise we might have waited “A long, long time”

Must close now. I shall try to write you again to morrow.

With all my love,

Your husband,

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on May 14, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/05/14/france-aug-l-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

