France, Aug. 2/18

Dearest Emma; –

Two whole days have passed by, two mails have been delivered, and still there is no mail for me, not even a card to say that you have become tired of being a war widow and have cast me off. I am indeed feeling desolate. It may be though that you are merely having your revenge upon me for not writing more frequently. If so, dear lady, please do not indulge your cruel desire too far.

The rain that I predicted yesterday has been pouring down nearly all day. It will lay the dust on the roads, but I hope that it clears away before to-morrow. I did not go for a swim to day on account of the rain, but I shall go to-morrow if the day is fine.

I have been wondering if you are still at Roehampton or what has become of you. In the letter that I still dare to hope for to-morrow I expect to learn something of your plans for the immediate future. You asked me in one of your letters for my opinion as to the nature of war service you had better undertake. My dear girl, I am not in a position to offer any advice in the matter. I think though that you should see Lady Drummond and explain your exact position to her. She would probably be able to give you sound counsel. In any case get into something where the food is at least fit to eat and in sufficient quantity to sustain health and strength.

Please excuse this very short letter. I am not too busy to write just now but am not in the proper humour. I shall try to do better to-morrow. The flies are a perfect plague here and one has to keep fighting them off. Au revoir with fondest love.

Your husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on May 15, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/05/15/france-aug-218/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

