France, Aug 15, 1918

Dearest Emma; –

I was very pleased to have your letters of Aug 7 & 8 respectively. They came to hand yesterday evening, and to day at noon I received yours of Aug. 9. I note your tone of protest in one of the letters at my failing to write regularly, but really my dear I am doing the best I can under the circumstances. You may not hear from me again for a day or two for I am being reattached with my party to another unit this afternoon and it may not be possible for me to get a letter out.

Capt Dunham and I went off for a walk last evening exploring the battlefield and again this morning as the work was very light. We saw much of interest including many captured German howitzers of all sizes and shapes. The ground around the battery positions had been literally torn to pieces by the awful deluge of shells that poured upon them at dawn of Aug 8. It must have been a terrific awakening for the German gunners. Some of the guns had been turned around by our men and used to fire upon the fleeing enemy.

We are all packed up ready to move. I was going to send you a F.S. post card but thought that perhaps you would rather have a short note even a poor one.

With love
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on May 26, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/05/26/france-aug-15-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

