France, Sept 12, 1918

Dearest Emma;-

I have time for only a few lines but if I waited until to morrow my letter might be too sentimental for ordinary purposes.

The weather is very disagreeable but we have good billets just at present and are not experiencing the full evil of it.

I must go down to the gas school to-morrow and get fitted with a new gas respirator. My old one was lost during my absence. All my other effects were present and correct.

When you write please give me your full bank address, i.e. your permanent English Address. My brother asked me for it but I was not sure of what to send him.

We had a good beefsteak with onions and fried potatoes last night. I do not think anything ever tasted better to me. Had a parcel yesterday containing a fruit cake, some candy, biscuits and comb honey. We had the honey and biscuits for afternoon tea today. Unfortunately the fruit cake was mouldy and unfit to eat. By the way I forgot to tell you that I had another letter from Baltimore.

Your adoring husband,

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on June 2, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/06/02/france-sept-12-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

