France, Sept. 14, 1918

Dearest Emma;-

I half expected a letter from you to day, but really had no reason for doing so for there has been scarcely time for one to get here. I cannot understand why the letters take so long to come from England. One would think that they would come in two days at the very most.

We are having quite an easy time of it this week. This morning I inspected the billets of my section. At two this afternoon I had the section parade for inspection, and after that was over I went for a long walk with Capt Dunham. Capt Dunham expects to go on leave within a few days. The weather has been much more pleasant during the past two days.

Capt Clark was out foraging for the mess this afternoon and bought a pair of geese for our dinner to-morrow night. We are holding a special dinner to celebrate the third anniversary of the unit’s arrival in France. I hope we shall not be here three years more. If the Yankees keep on as well as they have started the war is not likely to last another three years or even two. Besides I do not think that the Hun will escape further attention from the British and French during the remainder of this campaigning season. I wish we could get him well behind the cities of St Quentin, Cambri, Douai & Lens before winter sets in so that we could have a good billeting area at our back instead of the desolated wilderness we have at present.

Canadian mail came in to day. I had 4 letters, 1 from Frances, 1 from Herbert and two from my cousin in Toronto. Frances asked for your address. She is now working in Regina but does not like it as well as Winnipeg.

All my love to you Dear.

Your husband Harold W. McGill

Published in: on June 4, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/06/04/france-sept-14-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

