France, Sept 15/18

Dearest Wife;-

Those little ink tablets you sent me long ago are the real thing. My pen ran dry this after noon when I was writing to Frances and there was no ink available. I put a tablet in my pen, filled it up with water, and proceeded with the business of letter writing. I have just finished the letter to Frances. Did I tell you that I had a letter from her yesterday? It was written in Regina Aug. 23. Frances is feeling ever so much better, and gained 9 pounds in weight during the short holiday she took after leaving Wpg. Frances asked for your address so I gave her the one I am using not being sure of your fixed address at the bank. Please let me have it.

Your lovely letter of Sept 10 came to hand this morning. It rained dogs and cats in Boulogne that night. To-day is the finest day we have had since my return but I have not been out much. This morning I held a kit inspection of my section and this afternoon I am trying to get a few letters written. I owe a big pile and new ones are coming almost as fast as I am writing.

Yes, Dear, we had a real honeymoon this last time, and I hope we may have another in the South of France before many months. Then next summer we may have another in Scotland or Ireland. After that, if the war is still in progress, I think I shall advise you to desert me temporarily and return to Canada before another winter, there to await my homecoming.

Your dearly loving husband

Harold W. McGill

Ecl. Chq.

Published in: on June 5, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/06/05/france-sept-1518/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

