France, Sept 21/18

Dearest Wife; –

I shall try to write you a short letter without becoming too sloppy and sentimental even though three whole days have lapsed since I last heard from you. Yesterday I received the “Canada” and copies of “Life” for which please accept my thanks. To day I drew a complete blank in the mail with the exception of a couple of bundles of Calgary papers.

Do you know I am becoming really concerned about my rapidly increasing baldness, and wish that I could do something to check its ravages. I feel particularly sorry on your account, for when we go home, your friends, meeting me for the first time will say “ I wonder why she took up with that baldheaded old has been”.

Well I have lost Margaret. She started off for the base No 2 General, this morning. Last night at dinner I got a message that she was to go this morning, so I got our Ford ambulance and drove back to see her. I stayed until nearly 11 P.M. Margaret does not know whether to apply for leave now or not. She is most anxious to take leave to Rome, but I do not think that leave to Italy is open for nursing sisters. If she goes to England she will of course look you up first thing after she arrives. Yesterday Margaret & Miss Cummings, the girl who is returning to the base with her, had a joy ride up to within a comparatively short distance of the front. General Stewart of Lethbridge took them up.
He told Margaret that I would have a fit when I heard where they had been, and certainly I would not have taken them up so close to Fritz.

This afternoon I wrote to Mrs. Wooster whom Miss Hurcumb mentioned in her letter.

Yours lovingly
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on June 10, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/06/10/france-sept-2118/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

