France, Sept 25, 1918

Dearest Wife;

Your letter of Sept 19 came to hand yesterday and cheered me up a whole lot. The weather has been miserable and depressing lately and I find it very hard to write a letter of any kind let alone a good letter. As a matter of fact I have written to nobody but you for some days.

The war news has been exceedingly good during the past few days and we shall hope for a continuance. The Turks have been hit a very hard blow and I shouldn’t be surprised if their thoughts are now somewhat inclined to-wards peace. I am really beginning to think that the war may be over before Christmas 1919. In that case we might get back to Calgary by the spring of 1920. That would make just 5 full years since I had gone to the war. Do you think you will be satisfied (for a short time only of course) to remain in the house in the evenings, sitting on the other side of the fire talking to yours truly? I am sure I shall be quite prepared to enjoy the pleasures of quiet home life when we get back to Canada.

The Canadian mails seem to be held up again. I haven’t had any except newspapers for nearly two weeks. I hope none of the mail boats have been sunk. It will soon be time to do our Christmas Shopping. I haven’t done any since the war began i.e. to any extent. It is not a very easy thing to accomplish in France, and my last three Christmas Days have been spent here. I have never been actually been in the trenches for Christmas but on two occasions I saw & heard the New Year ushered in with artillery fire when I was in a front line dugout.

Scotty went down to the rail head this morning and sent off my box of surplus kit to the Pall Mall storage people. It will likely arrive some time during the winter.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on June 12, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/06/12/france-sept-25-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

