France, Sept 29/18

Dearest Emma; –

I have your two letters of Sept 24 & 24 respectively. Thank you ever so much. Had a letter to day from Margaret written on Sept 26, the day before the big offensive started. It is now nearly 10 P.M., and the night is very wild with rain and wind. I am writing this in a tent and the wind seems ready to tear it from over my head any moment. However if the night were fine I could not have a light burning and you would in a few days be anxiously waiting for the letter that did not come. Isn’t selfish of me to like to think that you would feel disappointed not to hear from me? We didn’t get any mail out to-day, so you didn’t miss anything by my not writing yesterday.

Did I thank you for the nice parcel you sent; eye ointment, shaving powder, etc? It was awfully thoughtless of one if I failed to do so. That shaving powder is a “Bon” idea. I have been using the powder instead of the soap you helped me to buy in Edinburgh.

This evening I took a trip up the line in our Ford to take the mail up to the officers and men who have gone forward. I passed over some of the ground wrested from the Boche the day before yesterday. It is a sight.

Am pleased to hear Hornby is doing well. Please give him my regards.

Good night my loved one

Yours ever
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on June 17, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/06/17/france-sept-2918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

