France, Sept 30, 1918

Dearest Wife; –

Thank you very much for the Tommy’s cooker which came to hand this afternoon. You seem to have parcel coming to me every day now. You once said that you enjoyed sending me things, so I shall give you another chance to have a good time. Please order me a six months subscription to “Punch” from a news dealer and send me the bill. I enjoy reading “Punch” and have not had a chance to see it regularly for some time. If you like to read it yourself you could by it each week and send it on to me after you are through with it. I enjoy seeing “Canada” which comes to hand regularly, thank you. I am now getting the Saturday Evening Post. Did I tell you and thank you? If I forget to mention the receipt of anything it will be because you are sending me so many things and not because I am indifferent.

To return to the subject of Tommy’s cooker I may say that you have sent quite enough refills for I can draw those from the Red X during periods of military activity such as the present. In fact I drew a big tin a couple of days before your parcel arrived.

The night (Last night) was very windy and stormy. Our tent was nearly blown down. Major Elliott, who occupies the tent with me, had to get out in the dark and re-drive some of the pegs that had been drawn out of the ground. I was so sound asleep that I did not hear him get up, although I heard some one pounding in the pegs. I thought it was one of our energetic and faithful batmen. Maclean shook up my mattress last night, i.e. he freshly spaded up the ground upon which I lie. A ground sheet over freshly spaded earth makes a soft bed. To day is very cold and windy but there has not been much rain since daylight. We have moved our men from the tent to a tarpaper hut. The boys found a stove for the dressing room.

Good bye for present.

Your loving husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on June 18, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/06/18/france-sept-30-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

