France, October 3, 1918

Dearest Emma;-

Your letter of Sept. 27 came yesterday, and the one written on Sept. 28 and posted Sept. 30 reached me this afternoon. I am very pleased to know that you are feeling fine and well. I feel first rate myself.

Do you know that every night since the ointment came I forgot to apply it until last night? The eye feels much better to day, and another application of the ointment should put it all right.

No, please do not send me any winter underwear. I have a couple of suits, and, besides, am still wearing my summer ones.

It is a nice sunny day, and if the night is also warm I shall take my clothes off before I turn in. I have been sleeping in my clothes for nearly a week. We have had some fairly heavy rains, but no water has come into our tent.

Our unit moved the other day. We struck tents right after breakfast and were on the road shortly after ten. There had been a smart rain during the night and the roads were very greasy. The weather on the whole has been fine since, and motor lorries can now travel over cross country tracks. The ability to move heavy transport off of the main roads is of tremendous advantage to us in the conduct of the present intensive military operations. There was a fine misty rain last night but very little moisture fell. The night was pitch black, so we were able to sleep undisturbed by enemy bombing planes. However the artillery supplied all the noise necessary.

Yesterday morning Major Elliott and I went for a long walk. We saw lots of interesting things including captured German guns of all sizes and shapes. We came across one young German machine gunner lying dead in a shell hole. A goodly number of others were buried close by. We visited a wood that has often figured in the communiqués, and there had a good feed of blackberries.

Now I perceive that you are aching to do something for me, so you may send me a small blank book with a fairly strong back, limp preferred. I have the one in which I am recording my diary nearly full and require another to take its place. In after years you may read to the children extracts out of this diary to show them what the old man did in the great war. I can assure you there is nothing in it unfit for the ears of a child of the most tender age.

With greatest love.

Your husband

Harold W. McGill
P.S.
I have heard that General Bell was badly wounded the day before yesterday. A piece of shell went through the top of one of his lungs. The D.A.D.M.S. told me today that he was going on well but I am very anxious about him. I sincerely hope that he makes a good recovery for is anybody deserves to live and enjoy the blessings of peace he is the man. Try to find out where is please.

HWMcG

Published in: on June 19, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/06/19/france-october-3-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

