France, October 7, 1918

Dearest Emma; –

I had two letters from you yesterday, one written on Oct. 1, and the other one Sept 29, which you will note was of an earlier date than the letter that I received the day before yesterday. This is one indication of our somewhat disorganized mail service. However on the whole we must be thankful that the mail comes as regularly as it does. I don’t know what we should do if it were not for our practically daily mail service. I do not get many letters except from you, and I can be perfectly satisfied so long as you do not fail me.

Do you know where Mrs. A.H. Bell is? I had her Paris address in the little memoranda book that I lost when on leave. I have heard a report that the General has died of his wounds. I am afraid that the report is true, and I feel it very much. As you know I thought a wonderful lot of General Bell, whom I considered one of the most thorough gentlemen and finest soldiers that I have ever met. It seems too utterly pitiful that he should have gone through all the stress, worry and hardships of over 3 years of active warfare, and then to be killed just as we have prospects of forcing the war to a victorious conclusion. I should like to write to Mrs. Bell but do not know where to send the letter. I feel very sorry for her. The General and she thought everything of each other.

Our weather keeps fine although it is always threatening rain. The sky cleared off last night, but we were not troubled with enemy bombers although there were a few flying about. We are getting our wrecked houses transformed into fairly comfortable billets. Maclean got a little stove for my room and yesterday we had a fire place built in the mess. We had a nice wood fire going in it last night. Just at present we are well off for fuel, with the wood from destroyed buildings and the coal and coke we captured from the enemy. The enemy abandoned a large coal and coke dump close to where we have our advanced dressing station. Now that we are getting our billets into habitable condition I have unpacked some of my baggage, and am able to write you a letter on paper more suitable to your dainty tastes.

Somebody is going to have a birthday within a few days, on Oct. 16 to be strictly definite. I am enclosing a cheque of £25, £15 of which is your monthly allowance, and the balance to buy a birthday present for the best and sweetest girl in the world.

The mail has just come in and I see that there is just one letter for me, but it is from you and if you will just excuse me a moment I shall see what you have to say. – – The letter is yours of Oct 2. I am pleased to know that you had my letter of Sept. 29. I feel very badly when you complain of not having heard from me for 4 days for I know that I have never neglected writing you for that length of time since I came back from leave. I was much interested in the letter from Mrs. Edy which you enclosed. We shall observe some marked changes in Calgary and the C.G.H. when we return home.

Who is Mrs. MacKay whom you mention so often in your letters?

It is raining dogs and cats out side. I wish we had some better window material than dressing gauze. The rain will be a good test for our billets but I hope it does not last long.

Your ever loving husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on June 24, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/06/24/france-october-7-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

