France, Oct 21/18

Dearest Wife;-

The mail is not yet in to-day but I am sure there is a letter from you in it. I shall not wait for it though before writing in case that I should not have any time for writing after the mail comes in. It is now 12:15 and the sun is making brave attempts to come out through the clouds. It will probably be an omen of hopefulness to the thousands of refugees who are coming down through our lines, rescued from 4 years of slavery under the Huns. We fed hundreds of them last night and provided them with shelter of sorts. Many of our boys gave up their blankets rations and billets to help provide for the unfortunates. One chap had 3 babies sleeping in his bunk. The shell holes in the roofs of the buildings let in the water, but luckily very little rain fell during the night. Our cooks worked far into the night providing hot tea and soup. As I told you last night we had a considerable quantity of milk among our Red + supplies and this helped to feed the babies. We also had a big extra supply of blankets and stretchers that we had for the recent show and these came in very useful. We have still a very large number on our hands (refugees I mean) and are providing for them the best we can. Our boys are very sympathetic and work whole heartedly in the behalf of the people rescued from the clutches. Some of them have weird tales to tell of their experiences during the long 4 years of their captivity.

Well this tale will begin to tire you so I shall try to talk of something else. I do wish though that some of the people in their comfortable homes in Canada could see the things I have seen during the past month. They would not then be ready to make any armistice with Heinie, especially now that we are getting the heel of our boot planted firmly over his windpipe. He will squeal for mercy like the bully he is, but the louder he cries the harder we should hit him.

Have you seen General Bell?

——-Just here Major Whitaker of Calgary called looking for his unit and remained for lunch with us. It is now 15 K. I have been quite busy since lunch and shall now try to finish this letter to you before something else turns up to detract my attention. We have a number of sick civilians to get out to a civil hospital this afternoon but cannot get them away yet on account of lack of cars.

I was going to say I hoped you had seen General Bell and that he is going along alright. I saw General Stewart of Lethbridge to day who told me that he had heard that General Bell was in Paris with Mrs. Bell.

Did I tell you that I opened the parcel from the Lockport community club? It contained a cake, pr. of socks, towel, a box of raisins and some chicklets and life savers, altogether a very good selection. I must try to write and thank the senders within a day or two.

I received a big piece of maple sugar from my cousin in N. B. about 3 weeks ago and have not yet written to thank her. By the way I am very pleased to know that your cousin with the U.S.A. army is alive and well.

All my love to you, dearest.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

P.S. I think we shall have at lest one more leave before the war is over. H.W. McG.

Published in: on July 1, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/07/01/france-oct-2118/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

