France, Nov. 1, 1918

Dearest Wife; –

Your two letters dated Oct 26 came to hand about 1800 o’clock yesterday. I had gone two whole days without hearing from you. The mail has come in for to-day but there was nothing whatever for me. It 6 now just after 18 o’clock and we have dinner at 18:30 so I should have time to write you a small letter. I cannot continue after dinner I have to go to see the A.D.M.S. on business, and may not get back until late.

It was very nice for you to get to the dinner and enjoy yourself. You will find life at Chichester very dull and commonplace after your dining out with people of international reputations. A poor Major is a poor pawn in the game compared with those birds.

It has been a lovely day, almost like Summer, and since before dawn until well into the forenoon the roar of artillery was terrific. The noise was miles away from us, but it sounded like a huge mill running overtime. I hear that things have gone very well but you will read all about it in the papers before this reaches you. The unspeakable Hun is getting it handed out to him these days. Even the weather seems to favour us as it formerly notoriously did not.

I had two letters from my brother last night, one written on Sept 29 and one on Oct 6. He sent his kind regards to you and said he had lost track of your address. He expects to get back to Vancouver for Christmas. Had a letter from Frances a few days ago. She is feeling ever so much better and is having what she calls a rest in her new position. She says she hasn’t done as much work in the two months she has been there as she often did in two days in Winnipeg. Also she had nearly a months holiday before going to Regina, her first rest except for a few days at a time in over three years. I am very pleased to know she is feeling so well for I was becoming quite anxious about her. Now if you will only become and remain in the best of health my worries will be few indeed, only financial in fact.

Many thanks for the beautiful diary blank. It is entirely too fine for my purpose and also hardly suitable in other ways. So do not be offended dear if I return it, will you? You could probably make use of it for keeping a diary for yourself. The papers are coming to hand regularly and are much appreciated by myself and other members of the mess. I got two copies of Punch, one of Life, and a Saturday Evening Post last night. I tell you some of the younger bloods in the mess will be wishing they had a nice wife to send them things and flatter them. By the way you had better switch the Saturday Evening Post subscription to yourself for Prof. Christie has subscribed for it and is having it sent to me from the States.

I am very pleased you saw Capt. Clark and hope that you had time to pay poor Burgess a visit. Except both eyes, the loss of a hand is the most serious mutilation that one is likely to sustain in the war.

I had a peculiar dream last night. I thought that I was going on leave and while I was on my way the war finished. I thought that I kept going right on until I reached Canada and was then horrified to realize that you were still in England. If possible I shall stay in England until you are able to come along and we shall watch for whales together from the rail of the ship. But please do not expect me to return to Canada on even England until this bally war is over.

I shall be late for dinner as it is now later than 18 K I haven’t time to read over the letter and you are sure to find mistakes in it.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on July 8, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/07/08/france-nov-1-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

