France, Nov 6, 1918

Dearest Emma;-

It is now either 4 or five days since I received a letter from you, but I am confidently expecting a regular budget when the mail comes in to-night. It, the mail service, has been very irregular lately. The inconvenience caused thereby is doubtless one of the penalties of our more or less rapid advance. The artillery started with a roar about 4:30 this morning and has kept up practically all day. It woke me up this morning and I was dreaming about you at the time too.

The rain has simply poured since about 10 this morning and we are in danger of being flooded out. I fear it will make heavy going up in front. Yesterday was the same just a steady downpour all day. The O.C. and I took a walk over to A.C.C.S. yesterday afternoon and it was far from being a pleasant day for a walk. We are at present running a C.R.S. and I fear the war will be over before I have a chance to get up to the front again and collect a few souvenirs for us to take home to Canada with us.

What do you think about our next leave now? Do you think we shall have that South of France trip this winter? I hope so for many years may pass before either of us get another chance to take it. The time limit for officers’ leave is now five months. Let me see; five months from Sept 9 will bring us to Feb 9. Everybody tells me that that is the very best time of the year in which to visit Nice. However anytime is good enough for me.

Capt Riley of Calgary, (Harold Riley) the paymaster, was here yesterday taking applications for Victory Loan bonds. I am buying $500.00 worth for to fall back on when we, or if we strike a rainy day after we return to Canada.

I must close now and go over to the mess looking for a letter from you. If I get one I shall especially try to write again tomorrow.

Your devoted husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on July 10, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/07/10/france-nov-6-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

