France, Nov. 7, 1918

Dearest Emma: –

After I finished my letter last night I went over to the mess and found no fewer than 3 letters from you awaiting me. These were written on Oct 30 & 31 and Nov 1, respectively. You may imagine how pleased I felt. I had no other letters in the mail but “Canada” of Oct 26 was there.

This is another dull cheerless day but it is not at all cold. We have had some rain to-day but not very much. If it had kept up as it was yesterday I fear we should have been flooded out. One advantage in having rain is that we get soft water in which to wash. Maclean caught a canful for me as soon as the rain began.

My brother’s family lives at 481 Nineteenth Ave, W. Vancouver B.C. There are three children in the family, Mary aged 9, Edward aged 6 and Arthur aged 4. Herbert, my brother has been in Manitoba all summer but expects to get home for Christmas. Frances is in the Provincial Laboratory Regina, Sask. I have never sent any Christmas presents since I came to the war and I shall leave the choice of what to send and whom to send entirely to you. I have no idea in the world what would be suitable in each case. I should think the brass kettle nice for Margaret if she has a fancy for such things. A tin one does me well enough. If you could pick out something that would give pleasure to an old, old lady please send it to my aunt, Mrs. W. G. Patterson, 172 University Ave. Toronto. I should also like to send something to my cousin Miss B. Stacey 45 Breadalbane Street, Toronto. Her mother, Mrs. Stacey my father’s sister, lives with her and of course I must not leave her out. Birdie, my cousin, is the girl that had her intended killed out here and she has always been very good to me, sending me all sorts of things. Whatever is sent need not be of great intrinsic value so long as it is nice and will show that we have not forgotten them. I have 3 of Birdie’s letter on hand all answered.

I wish you would find out from some of your officer’s wives, friends or from other sources the exact procedure necessary to get permission to meet me in Paris and the proper course to pursue upon obtaining such permission. We may get leave before I expect it, and it is well to be prepared for such a good piece of fortune. I presume that you would object to my taking leave in France if you could not get across.

Your loving husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on July 14, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/07/14/france-nov-7-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

