France Nov 14/18

Dearest Emma; –

There was no letter from you in the mail to-day but last night I received two, one of Nov 7 and one of Nov 8. I am enclosing you an extract from one of them. “For your information and necessary action please”. “Meaning not clear please”. You will see that I am employing official military correspondence please.

I have just finished a Christmas letter to Mrs. A.G. Clarke. I shall have time for only a short letter before dinner time, and I know I shall not have time to write to morrow or the day following.

I note that you are returning to 30 Craven Hill Garden and I shall send this letter there. Unless I forget to do so I shall enclose your monthly allowance cheque.

The last three days have been beautiful, just like Alberta weather in Autumn and fine for marching. I may as well tell you that I am likely to go on to Germany with the army of occupation but I presume that it will be quite possible to obtain leave from there when the railway situation has been somewhat restored. Capt Stewart whom we met on the boat had lunch with us yesterday. He was on his way to the Base and expected to soon return to England. I had dinner last night with Capt F. Campbell at this Bn. Hq. Mess.

We cleared out the last of our patients yesterday and have closed our C.R.S. I wish the censor restrictions might be relaxed a little so that we could give you a little real news in our letters. How do you like the armistice terms? Aren’t they fine?

Your ever loving husband
Harold W. McGill

P.S. Which will it be, Brussels or Paris? I am sorry now that I spent £ 13 on a new uniform when I was on leave but rejoice in the fact that I did not sink anything in unnecessary leggings.

H.W. McG.

Published in: on July 21, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/07/21/france-nov-1418/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

