France, Nov. 22/18

Dearest Emma; –

I is not after 17:00 o’clock and our mail has not come in yet. Your letter of Nov 14 is the latest I have received.

You seem to be under the impression that I could have streaked it for home the moment the armistice came into force. Well it will not likely be long before some of us have the option of returning to England. I shall be quite satisfied to go back once I have seen the Rhine. I intend to carry by Webly .455 after we enter Germany. The Belgian people continue to give us a splendid welcome and will do anything in their power for our men. I must really revise my previously held opinion of the Belgians. I had received a rather unfavorable impression from the ones we met up in Flanders. Would you like a pair of wooden shoes to take home as a souvenir?

The unit moved again yesterday but the march was not long. Our billets are quite so good as in the last town but are good enough. I am using my own blankets for the Huns stole all those belonging to the house where I am billeted. They have also taken away all the brass door knobs in the country, even out of the finest houses. Have you any sympathy for the German people in the terrible conditions imposed upon them by the Allies?

By the way I forgot to answer a question I one of your letters. I was a witness for the prosecution in the C.M. The prisoner was convicted and sentenced to F.P. No. 1.

A big crowd of officers sent off to Brussels to day to witness the triumphal entry of Le Roi Albert et al. I could not go as the trip would have been rather long for me.

I am feeling ever so much better to day and shall be quite alright to-morrow. The car was late returning for me yesterday afternoon and I spent the afternoon sitting beside the fire with the Curé, smoking and drinking his wine. We carried on our conversation under great difficulties as he could speak no English. His brother & nephew were murdered by the Huns in Louvain.

Your lovingly
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on July 28, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/07/28/france-nov-2218/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

