Belgium, Nov. 27/18

Dearest Emma; –

Your two letters of Nov. 21 & 22 respectively reached me this afternoon. I trust that the letter I wrote you last night will in some measure serve to answer some of the questions in your letter of Nov. 21. As explained I cannot do much towards making arrangements for leave while we are on the move, but so soon as we reach our destination I shall try for a month of leave a la General Clark. We may then arrange to spend half of it in France and the balance in England. I wish I know something about Paris hotels. You see I am a perfect stranger there. Perhaps it would be a good thing if I were to take a short leave there alone in order to get things sized up for myself before you come over later.

I am pleased to know you had Major Horby and Capt. Clark to tea and hope that you were able to see Major Burgess. Col Kappele wrote that he (Major Burgess) was now getting along well after having had a frightful time of it. Col Kappele is also doing well and expects to be sent off to Canada forthwith. Gen. Bell wrote me that he was now nearly well and had only to visit the hospital every 3 or 4 days. He spoke in terms of appreciation of your kindness in calling to see him and sending flowers.

It has not been a pleasant day so far as the weather is concerned. We held a parade of the unit at 08:30 but did not carry on owing to there being a fine drizzling rain falling. After the parade was dismissed a bunch of us went off in two motor ambulances for a visit to the Field of Waterloo. We had a most interesting trip and were back in time for a late lunch. I suppose that in a hundred years from now people will be coming to see the scenes of the terrible battles of this war. I hope some of the shell holes and trenches will have been filled up by that time. Vimy Ridge is a place that will lend itself to the purposes of the sightseer and tourist. No doubt it will become a Canadian shrine in years to come. Mont Kemmel is another place that will attract a lot of visitors.

I felt very little like letter writing last night but managed to get a short epistle off to Margaret. I must try to write to Elora to-night. I am very much afraid that my program of Christmas correspondence will have to be abandoned for I fear …..

My pen has run dry and I must perforce finish in pencil. I was about to say that my program of Christmas correspondence may have to be much modified if not abandoned. I hear that we are to march for 5 days straight. We begin with a 15 mile march to-morrow. We shall pass through Namur about noon. The latest information is that we go to Bonn and not to Coblentz.

I forgot to tell you in my letter last night that I have quite recovered from my slight indisposition. By the way I had a dream about you last night. I thought that I was in England on leave and that you had the measles. After I kissed you I wondered whether of not I would take the disease but did not regret that I had run the risk. I thought that I was put under quarantine with you in the house.

Your ever loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on July 30, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/07/30/belgium-nov-2718/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

