La Fosse, Belgium, 3/12/18

Dearest Emma;-
Your letter of Nov. 23 reached me yesterday. There was one from Enid in the same mail. We have had our mail only twice since a week ago. By the way “Punch” has not been coming. The last number that reached me was dated some time towards the last of October. I wrote to Major Burgess this morning.
We fully expected to trek again to day but are still resting in billets. The boys needed the rest too for they had had four days in succession of heavy marching. The people in this little village are extremely poor but are very kind and are willing to do anything within their power to make our men comfortable.
The day is bleak and damp and it is much more comfortable in the house beside the fire than it would be marching over the hills. We shall likely move to-morrow and shall have about 18 or 19 miles to march. Another march after that will take us into Germany.
Now about our leave, I must confess that I can give you no definite information. None of our officers are going on leave at present although quite a number of the men have been getting away. Just so soon as we reach Bonn, our destination in Germany, I shall get busy and try to secure Paris leave, and if possible a couple of weeks extra in England. People tell me that the Ritz hotel would be the best one for us in Paris, but of course I am no judge of the matter never having been in Paris. I have no idea for instance how far it is from the railway station at which you would arrive.
Many thanks for the trouble you took in sending off the Christmas parcels. How are you off for funds? I am enclosing a cheque for £ 20. £ 15 is your regular monthly allowance, and with the residue I wish you to buy yourself something for Christmas. We are not likely to meet before then.
You ask me what I want for myself. Nothing thank you except a couple of tins of fuel for Tommy’s cooker. By the way Maclean has one of those watches I mentioned so that item may be ruled out.
Best of love to you always
Your husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on August 4, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/08/04/la-fosse-belgium-31218/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

