Thorsmen, Germany, 5/12/18

Dearest Wife;-
The day before yesterday I had 3 letters from you, one of which enclosed a photo of your dear self that I was delighted to have. Please accept my thanks. I am writing to you this evening even though I know the letter will not go out. Indeed I doubt if the letter I wrote you the day before yesterday has gone yet. When we are on the move we sometimes do not get the outgoing mail away for days at a time. I think I told you I had a letter from Enid the other day.
The day before yesterday we marched about 18 or 19 miles and the rain poured on us all the way. Nevertheless we made good time and the men came in in good shape. Today our march was comparatively short, only about 10 miles. We crossed the frontier into Prussia about noon, and from now on we shall have no flags or evergreen arches to welcome us as has been the case in all the Belgian towns through which we have passed. We move on again to-morrow and have about 16 or 17 miles to do. We shall have to make an early start to enable us to reach our billets before dark.
I note your remarks in regards to the advisability of your going back to Canada this month. My dear, I certainly do not wish you to go if you can avoid doing so. It would be a shame if you were hustled off before I had a chance to see you again. So far as I am concerned I shall not later go off and leave you unless I am sent to Canada under definite and explicit orders. If you are held in England I shall endeavor to obtain my discharge there, and we can then return at our leisure. I could fill in the intervening time in doing post graduate work in London. Heaven knows I need it.
Your fond husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on August 5, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/08/05/thorsmen-germany-51218/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

