Munstereiffel, Dec 9/18

Dearest Emma;-
We reached this town about 15 30 this afternoon. It rained on us during the last two hours of the march but the morning was fine and the sun shone quite brightly for a short time. We made good time to-day marching 27 kilometers in about 5 ½ hours not counting the hour we spent halted on the roadside for lunch. The sky is clear to night and there is a promise of a finer day for our march to-morrow. This is a fair sized town and we have A 1 billets.
Your three letters of Nov. 29, 30 and of Dec 1 came to hand this evening. We have our mess in a German hotel and I was busy playing bridge when the mail arrived. I had meant writing to you immediately after dinner but somebody enticed me into a game of bridge. However I determined to get my daily letter written so here I am in my room doing so at 22 15 o’clock. The room is a lovely one with a stove with a fine fire in one corner near the writing table. Over the table at which I am writing hangs a fine electric light with a red shade. The room is otherwise most comfortably furnished and so soon as I finish this letter I shall turn into bed for we have a walk of about 19 miles ahead of us for to-morrow. I wish we could remain for a few days rest in these billets for we can scarcely hope to do better. I hope that when we move to more or less permanent billets in the Bonn area that I shall get a room like this, comfortable enough in which to do my letter writing. Somehow I feel more as though we were together alone and having a confidential talk, while when I write in the mess I feel that there is always a crowd about as at the Hotel Petrograd last winter.
I have a loaded revolver beside me but I do not expect to need it for the people in the house are if not friendly at least civil.
Your loving husband,
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on August 12, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/08/12/munstereiffel-dec-918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

