Bonn, Prussia, Dec 20/18

Dearest Wife;-

Your three letters of Dec 11, 12, & 13 all reached me last night. I am at present holding up our mail orderly until I can get a short note written to go out this morning. I shall keep a record of the dates of my letters after this. I have for sometime. I have been afraid that some of my letters were going astray; now I am sure of it. The letter to which my remark concerning the watch referred was written last month before we left Denain, France. I presume some clever censor has destroyed it.

Yesterday I went down to see my cousin at the Hq. 29th Battn. He was not in but I remained for afternoon tea with the mess and had quite a pleasant time. I found the 29th Hq. in most palatial quarters. In fact we are all pretty well off now in respect to billets, we certainly have never had anything like it before since we came to the war. The men of my section all have beds with real white sheets.

There is no word of leave yet. If it does not soon come my turn I shall apply for short leave to Paris which does not count against leave to England. This leave was much in vogue when we were in France. It lasts 7 days. Would you come over for that length of time. From what I read about conditions in Paris just now hotel and food conditions are quite acute there. I shall try to order a room several days ahead if we are to meet there. I saw in “Orders” the other day that all Canadian officers and men of the B.E.F. were urged to get their wives and dependants home before demobilization begins. This will likely be in February. I am beginning to think that you had better go home next month. In anticipation of such an outcome I have made an assignment of pay to the amount of $75 per month in your favor. I gave your address as Bank of Montreal 24Cockspur Street. I shall write you again this afternoon or to-morrow.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on August 19, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/08/19/bonn-prussia-dec-2018/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

