Bonn, Dec. 22, 1918

Dear Wife;-

Your two letters of Dec. 12 & 13 respectively reached me this evening. Your remarks regarding the shipment of parcels have been causing me some worry for I fear it will be a couple of weeks before the clothing I asked you to have mailed to me will get here. I could get along without the service jacket if I had the riding breeches & British warm. I feel guilty that I did not send for them sooner but I did not wish to get them over until we got somewhat settled here.

Capt. Parker is going on leave Dec. 29 and my turn should come along soon after that. I really do not know what to have you do in regard to my articles of clothing. If you mail them after Dec 27 they will almost certainly be on the road when my leave warrant comes. And I hate the thought of postponing my leave for the sake of the clothes. However if you have mailed the things before this letter reaches you I shall probably wait until they arrive for I really need them. If I were going to England the solution would be most simple. I should simply get them when I arrived. I cannot find out anything about conditions in Paris and sometimes think we might be well advised to spend our leave in England. Have you a passport for Nice? The train from Bonn takes 30 hours to reach Boulogne. If I go to Paris I shall go that way and wire ahead for a room. I presume that you will be coming via Southampton and Le Havre. In any case I shall try to get into Paris a day ahead of you in order to have accommodation arranged. If I knew the city I could give you definite instructions regarding our meeting.

Am very pleased to know of Enid’s success in the field of literature and trust that it is but a forerunner of other and greater triumphs. I must write to her immediately after Christmas.

It is raining out of doors to night and we shall probably have a disagreeable day to-morrow. To-day was bright and sunny so a few of us took a run into Cologne. This is a very large city and also a very fine one. We visited the cathedral and some other points of interest. Afterwards we had lunch in the Grosser Kurfurnt Hotel. The waiter spoke English and was exactly of the type you see in the London restaurants. The streets were crowded with people.

My batman Jack Maclean has gone off for a refresher course of a month at his civilian trade. He will not likely return. Another boy is starting in on the job to-morrow morning.

Your loving husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on August 21, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/08/21/bonn-dec-22-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

