Auvelais, Jan 28/1919.

Dearest Emma;-

Here I am back in Belgium with my own unit. I arrived at 13.30 this afternoon in time for a late lunch. I managed to secure a seat that morning in Paris. The train went past Amiens and Arras, through Bethune, Labasse and Lille and finally reached Brussels at about 22.30. It was snowing heavily when I got off of the train. A large part of the journey was across the old battlefields and much of the country was quite familiar to me. It is a scene of horrible desolation and looks even worse than when fighting was in progress.

When I reached Brussels I had quite a walk and some difficulty in finding a good hotel. There were no tramcars running. I finally got a good room at the Palace Hotel. A R.M.C.A. officer and I took a double room with bath. It cost us 25 ₣. The next day I went down to Namur on the train. I remained in Namur last night and got the train for this place at 11 this morning. Auvelais is about half way between Namur and Charleroi. You will be able to find it on the map. It is a colliery town of fair size and we have a quite comfortable mess. My room is also good but there is no stove in it. There were 11 letters waiting for me, two of them being from you. Three were from Margaret. She had applied for leave for Jan 23, but evidently it had not come through for that date. I had a letter from Mrs. Clarke and two from my brother. His little girl Mary had had and operation for appendicitis. Another letter was from the Royal Trust Coy. My War Loan bonds had at last been delivered to them and the interest $ 55 paid. The Trust Coy. informs me that Dr. Follett has already made arrangements for the renewal of my leave.

The O.C. and Major Dunham expect to go on leave to Paris within a few days. Col Simpson is now in England on leave. I shall supply Major Dunham with all the maps, literature and information in my possession regarding the Paris + Nice trip. Capt. Moses has taken his leave to England. I bought a map of Brussels but didn’t have time to make much use of it.

I shall try to write to you again to morrow. Good night.

Your loving husband,

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on September 3, 2008 at 8:00 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/09/03/auvelais-jan-281919/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Caitlin…

    this is why i always pick my nose….


Leave a Reply

