Belgium, 30/1/19

Dearest Emma;-

You will please excuse me writing you on this military stationary. I shall try to go out and buy some suitable notepaper one of these fine days if such a thing can be obtained. Perhaps you might send me a little, please. And after this I must insist that you forward the bill of the things that you buy for me. Heretofore you have been spending your allowance in getting things for me and have had none left to buy anything for yourself. I felt very mean the other morning letting you start off for London with so little cash in your possession, but really I was afraid of becoming stranded myself before I found the unit. Had I known it there was no need for me to worry. I had heard weird stories of the prices in Brussels but did not find them as high as in Paris. The other officer I mentioned and I ate most of those sandwiches after we reached our hotel that night. As for myself I felt too tired to go out for anything to eat.

The weather here is very cold and disagreeable. I have been scarcely out of the house today except to visit the office and orderly room. Leave has all been cancelled for the time being. It is well we had our leave when we did. The Belgian people here are very kind to us but the houses are not nearly so comfortable as those we occupied in Bonn.

Have heard no further news of demobilization except a well founded rumor that the division will be taken to Bramshott for that purpose. I hope that is true for then we could see each other occasionally. Possibly you could come to live in the Bramshott are. The next few months will require a large draft on our patience account.

Good night. Please be as patient as you can.

Your ever loving husband,

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on September 4, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/09/04/belgium-30119/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

