Belgium, Feb 2/’19

Dearest Emma;-
Your letter of Jan 27 reached me this afternoon. I was surprised and, needless to say, extremely pleased to hear from you so soon. You must have reached your “Home” nearly 24 hours before I arrived at my destination.
Let me know the result of your inquiries at Cook’s regarding the trip to China. There is a rumor going around here that a certain number of M.O.s are to be sent that route in /c of drafts of coolies just as I surmised. I have heard no particulars so far and cannot say whether or not any provision will be made for wives to go along too. If you are allowed to accompany me shall I accept such a job if one is offered to me?
This morning I filled in a long questionnaire regarding a Post Graduate course for army medical officers. I expressed a desire to take a course in Great Britain. Of course nothing may come of this, but the fact that such a paper was sent around for signatures shows that the powers that be have taken some thought of the matter. I certainly think that M.O.s who have been with front line troops nearly four years should have the privilege of getting in some such study while still on full pay.
Certainly since coming back from leave I have felt very restless and discontented. Perhaps, in fact I feel sure, it is because I have so little to do. I miss you so much and have the strongest hope that something may come of this post graduate study business. I should like to get clear of the unit altogether and get started taking clinics in England or Scotland before it is time for you to go home. Now that you have waited so long you might as well wait another month or two until we see which way the cat jumps. The situation including the China business contains several attractive possibilities.
I presume you will need written authority from me to enable to have access to that box of mine in order that you may get the cartridge case for Mrs. Drysdale. If such is the case I shall send you along my receipt for the package endorsed to that effect.
The weather keeps very dull and depressing. I fear this will seem the longest winter of our experience in Europe. We shall like Canada all the better when we definitely get there.
How are your off for funds? When enough time has elapsed for all my cheques to get in I shall send over my bank book for balancing. I shall then be able to figure out just where I stand. I feel very mean that we didn’t have enough to spare for you to buy the things you wanted when you were in France. Any time you wish to go home though I shall be able to borrow enough for that purpose. The interest on my war loan bonds in Canada will save me from the necessity of sending any additional money over there other than my present assignment of $35 per month. At one time my account with the Royal Trust Co. showed a balance of only $25. That is cutting it rather fine as I do not wish any of my insurance policies to lapse. Well this is enough financial palaver.
Yours ever in love,
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on September 9, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/09/09/belgium-feb-2%e2%80%9919/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

