Belgium, Feb 3/1919.

Dearest Emma;-

I was very pleased to receive your letter of Jan 28 this morning. Apparently the trip home via China is quite out of the question unless I can secure a job as M.O. to a draft of coolies. I see by Canada, as you did you did also, doubtless, that the dependants of Canadian Soldiers in England are to be taken home at the expense of the government. The item didn’t say anything about the wives of officers but I have hopes that you will come in under this regulation.

You left your book of nice post cards in my keeping and I forgot to give it back to you before we parted. I shall try to borrow a large envelope from Major Dunham and enclose it with this letter.

The O.C. and Major Dunham are not yet in receipt of their leave warrants and it is difficult to say when leave will reopen Our division will likely get over to England about April 1. In any case I do not think it will be very long before we meet again. I should like to have you there when I go over and if I can manage to get on that P.G. course we can both leave at your present boarding house should such a course of action appeal to you. It would be a big help to us if I could get in my period of study while still on the active army list. The bonus due on discharge would then aid us to get settled in Calgary after we get home. You may have thought I was trying to be funny, but the stringency of our financial condition has really been worrying me quite a little. Over and above my definite commitments, assignments, etc. I have $65 a month to work on. This sum must cover my messing, clothing and other regimental expenses besides allowing something for a sinking fund to cover leave and unforeseen liabilities. Fortunately or rather unfortunately it is now scarcely necessary for us to save for another leave for it is not likely we shall have another. Anyway we have had three good ones; I know I have had. The only trouble with taking a P.G. course in London before I leave the army is that I should probably have to invest in a new pair of leggings.

The weather keeps cold and gloomy. I don’t think I have seen the sun since we left Nice.

Your devoted husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on September 10, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/09/10/belgium-feb-31919/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

