Belgium, Feb 5/19

Dearest Emma; –

There was no letter for me yesterday but to-day I received yours of Jan 30 & 31 respectively. There hasn’t been a Canadian mail since I returned from leave. I have managed to get a few letters written to Canada but not many. My neglect to do so has not been because I have been too busy either.

We received an order yesterday that it had been definitely decided by the Canadian authorities that wifes of soldiers would be allowed to accompany their husbands home to Canada. This was exceedingly good news to me and in view of this announcement you may give up any idea of going home for a month or two yet, i.e. of course unless you wish to go at once. The announcement we received stated that it was probable that soldiers with wives would not be sent back until demobilization was complete. This will probably delay our home going for some weeks but this will not be an undesirable feature of the case provided I can get doing clinics while waiting. I think I told you that our division would go to Bramshott for demobilization. If we do I can get that souvenir for Mrs. Drysdale after I go over.

The weather turned a little milder this morning but a heavy snow storm came on this afternoon. It is really most dismal weather and I feel sorry for you if you are having to get along without coal.

This is a very short poor letter. I shall try to do better to morrow.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on September 11, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/09/11/belgium-feb-519/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

