Belgium, Feb. 17, 1918. [1919]

Dearest Emma;-

Your letter of Feb 12 is to hand. I have just finished one to my cousin in Toronto and this will be my last for to-day. I shall try to write one every day besides the one to you until I am caught up with my correspondence. I fear that my letter of yesterday contained a very ungracious note, about the note paper I mean. Of course I wish to thank you very much for sending it to me but fear that I neglected to do so. If this doesn’t sound like an apology tell me so and I shall try to do better. Any way do not send me any more stationary for I have plenty now to do me until I reach England, i.e. if we go to England next month as we expect. The latest rumor is that the division will begin to move about the middle of March. There is evidently a scheme on foot now to have the married men with dependents returned first. Do you approve of this? So far the instructions apply only to other ranks but officers may be dealt with on the same lines later.

Please find enclosed a cheque for ten pounds. This will account for the total of my balance of pay for February this being a short month. However this pittance may help you to tide over the present period of financial stringency.

I shall hold the papers in connection with your trunk for a few days longer in the hope of thinking out some scheme of disposing of the matter without troubling you with it again.

Did I tell you that Capt Graham, one of our officers, was leaving for Canada? He left us to day. His patients petitioned for his recall. I scarcely think the Calgary people will go to that trouble to get me back. If I owed enough money there they might do so.
Best of luck.

Yours very much in love

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on September 23, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/09/23/belgium-feb-17-1918-1919/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

