Belgium, Feb. 22 / 19

Dearest Wife;-
Your two letters of Feb.15 &16 respectively reached me yesterday just as I was leaving the mess to see a football match. I took them along and read them at half time. There was also a card from Margaret saying that she was leaving for England on the seventeenth. You will most probably have seen her before now.
I surely do wish to get back to Canada, or at least to England, right away. If there is any chance of our getting right home I shall not stick on the P.G. course. This will have to wait for a later date. On the other hand I do not think I should bother about N.Y. either. Once we are on the other side I shall want to go on right out to Calgary, although of course you could remain behind in Montreal for a time if you wished.
Have been trying to think of some scheme whereby I can get back to England before the division. So far nothing has occurred to me other than the idea of going lame and being evacuated. Do you know Lt. Col. Mewburn and where he is? If I knew where he was I should write him and request that if he wished to do me a great favour he might ask for me. In that case the authorities would have something to go on when I made my application. I expect Col. Lomer back today. I have already told the A.D.M.S. about my desire to get away and shall do so again when the O.C. returns.
You will find enclosed papers in connection with that trunk. I do not feel that I can take an affadavit in regard to the nature of the contents. Had we known we could have sent this baggage in my name free of charge. At least this could have been done within the past two months. I am seriously considering having my surplus kit sent on ahead, but will probably retain my trunk.
This is some of the writing paper that Margaret sent me. I have now only one letter on hand to answer. I think I shall attend to this to day and then my list will be clear.
Your loving husband,
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on September 25, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/09/25/belgium-feb-22-19/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

