Belgium, Feb 27/19

Dearest Wife;-
Your letter of Feb 20 came yesterday. I had no letters of any kind in the mail to-day. I cannot understand why you have not been receiving letters. I try to make it a rule to write you every other day at least, and I can recall only one occasion upon which I have gone more than two days without writing since I came back from leave. I think it probable that before now you will have received quite a budget of letters from me.
There is really nothing for me to write to you in my letters. There has been no further word of the time of demobilization, and if this coal strike comes on in England our getting to England may be very much delayed. The First Division has not begun to move yet.
It has been raining most of the day but has not been cold. I went away to see a football match this afternoon between our team and that of the 31st Battn. We were unfortunate enough to lose 2 – 0, but the game was a very good one.
We are getting rather short of officers in the unit now and I do not suppose we shall get any more reinforcements. However there isn’t much to do, so nobody is likely to suffer from overwork.
I see by the papers that the “Flu” is becoming rather bad again in England. I hope that you will be able to keep out of its clutches. Anyway you will not have to spend the time of your illness at Roehampton House should you be unfortunate enough to be taken ill.
I shall look for at least one letter from you to-morrow. Good night.
Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on October 1, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/10/01/belgium-feb-2719/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

