Belgium, Feb 28/19

Dearest Wife;-
Your two letters of Feb. 21 & 22 respectively came to hand this afternoon. I had to attend a medical board this morning at HQ. of division about 20 K. away and did not get home until 14 o’clock this afternoon.
No! Certainly not! I am not sorry that I did not have you go home last December. In that case I should not have had you with me on that trip to Paris & Nice. Even if things have not turned out as we expected we had a fine leave anyway.
Tomorrow is March 1. I hear that the First Division is on the move from one informant and from another that they are only beginning to turn in their horses. In either case it does not necessarily mean that we shall be making an early start. We shall probably be here until the end of March and March is a long month.
The weather is distinctly colder to day but I do not look for any very hard frosts from this on. Dr. Follett in his letter said that 2 below zero was the coldest they had had in Calgary this winter.
I am very pleased to know that Miss Corbett is feeling better. Do you ever hear from the Mrs. MacKay whom you used to mention so often? I fear you must have obtained and idea from her.
I haven’t heard any more about a new O.C. but expect to see one come along almost any day. I shall be quite pleased to see somebody take over the command, for there will then be no excuse for the higher command holding me if a demand comes for my return to Canada.
Hope you see Margaret before she goes to Canada. Please give her my love. Margaret is my ideal of a sister. Syd, my cousin who was with the 24th, is now in London. He may call to see you.
All my love to you my dearest
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on October 2, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/10/02/belgium-feb-2819/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

