Belgium, March 4/19

Dearest Emma;-
I received your letter of Feb 24 yesterday. I fully intended writing to you in the evening but I was feeling rather out of sorts with my cold and went to bed before dinner. I am not feeling any too well yet but am up and about. I didn’t get any letters in the mail to-day.
Yesterday I went down to Namur to see the finals in the Divisional sports. The Sixth Brigade won most of the events. The football and road race were won by the 31st Battn. and the 29th Battn. team won the tug-of-war. General Rons naturally was extremely gratified over the results.
Among the spectators at the sports meet was Lt. Col. Montague who is at present engaged upon demobilization. He spends most of his time in England. I told him I wanted to get back to Canada with my wife as soon as possible and he promised to see what he could do for me. I think I told you in a previous letter that I would let my proposed post graduate course go by the board if it were going to interfere with our early return to Canada. It isn’t likely it would amount to much anyway.
Please excuse this short letter. I shall write again to-morrow if it is only an assurance of my love I can send.
Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on October 6, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/10/06/belgium-march-419/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

