Belgium, March 5/19

Dearest Emma;-
Your two letters of Feb 27 and 28 respectively came to hand this afternoon. I was very pleased to know that you had seen Margaret but wish you could have had longer together. I wrote to her last night and sent the letter to 95 Lancaster Gate. She may not receive it.
This is a very fine day and makes one feel that Spring is about to make its appearance. I suppose we shall all become more and more restless as the season advances. I really think the sooner we are on our way to Canada the better for I do not at all like the reports we receive of social and economic conditions in England. Capt Petty of the 6th Bgde. Staff was telling me last night that the people over there seem to act in a semi hysterical way. His home is in England and he has just returned from leave. He intends to go straight back to Canada as soon as he can. Do you notice anything peculiar in the attitude of the people?
I think I shall sell out my British war bonds so that we may have some cash for our trip and to make some needful purchases before we start.
Our new O.C. arrived yesterday. He is Major Treleaven of the Fourth Cdn. F. Amb. He is of course well known to us, and if we had to have still another change in command, is more acceptable than many a one would have been. Besides I now feel that there can be no alleged excuse for my being held here.
By the way my cold is almost gone to day. I was not feeling at all well when I wrote yesterday and had a poor night of it. I shall be quite all right to-morrow.
Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on October 7, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/10/07/belgium-march-519/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

