Belgium, March 8/19

Dearest Emma;-

Your letter of March 3 came to hand this afternoon. I am delighted to know that you are feeling better. Your letter was the only one for me to-day but it was worth a thousand of any other kind.

This afternoon I went in to Charleroi with the car going to C.C.S. I called on the occulist and made an appointment for next week. My eyes are still bothering me somewhat and I shall have this chap take a look at them. Otherwise I feel quite fit.

Charleroi is a dirty frowsy town like so many others in this country. I shall be greatly elated when I get away from it all. I bought a pair of wooden shoes to day for you. They may be too small for your feet but in any case they will fit one of the children.

An English concert party is putting on a show in our town this evening. We have been asked to entertain the members of the party to dinner and our mess orderlies are now in the midst of active preparations. I understand that there are four ladies in the party. Some of our officers have gone to the entertainment but I thought I should rather stay at home and write to my dear wife. I shall tell you all about our dinner party in my letter to-morrow.

Yours with dearest love
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on October 13, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/10/13/belgium-march-819/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

