Belgium, March 12/19

Dearest Emma;-

Another long long day had gone by and still no letter from you. I was really disappointed when the mail came in to day and there was no mail for me as I fully expected one. I shall likely receive a whole handful to-morrow.

It looks as though March was to be a real rainy month. It is at it again to day. This morning the 5th C.I. Brigade was inspected by General Rawlinson. The rain kept off until the inspection was nearly over. Our ambulance was not inspected but some of us went out to see the show. The brigade looked exceptionally well on parade.

I am looking after our little hospital this week and it is really satisfactory to have something definite to do. There are not many sick coming in.

Some apparently authentic news of demobilization came in to day. It would appear that the division will start to move on March 30, i.e. 18 days from now. Our unit will probably get away during the first half of next month. Quite a few of our men are getting away on leave.

Please excuse this very short letter. I shall try to write you at greater length to-morrow after I receive your letter or letters. Please let me know when you write how your health is keeping. You know how anxious I am I shall anxiously await the receipt of your letter to-morrow.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on October 16, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/10/16/belgium-march-1219/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

