Belgium, March 13/19

Dearest Emma;-

I have been playing bridge most of the afternoon but have just cut out in order to write to my dear wife. Do you know I am becoming anxious about your welfare not having heard from you for four days. The last letter from you reached me on March 9

The weather has been rather disagreeable to day but there has been no rain. Two years ago this date I remember we were getting a snow storm nearly every day. To-morrow I have to act as judge at Divisional held in Namur. I hope the day is fine. I didn’t want the job but felt it my duty to act when requested to do so. The Canadian Corps is holding an athletic meet at Brussels on March 22.

Did I tell you that I had had some of my surplus kit packed up to send over the England? I shall have it sent to the Pall Mall people and have them deliver it to the Officer in/c of Estates C.E.F. for dispatch to Canada free of charge.

The 4th Cdn Inf. Brigade is turning in its transport so it looks as though we might really get away before very long. When we reach England I shall be able to go up to London and visit you occasionally even if I cannot get away from division.

I shall hurry home from the sports to-morrow to get my mail for surely there will be a letter from you to-morrow. You see our positions have been reversed. Now it is you that will have to undergo danger and I shall wonder from day to day how everything is going with you.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on October 20, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/10/20/belgium-march-1319/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

