Belgium, March 17, 1919

Dearest Emma;-

I had five letters in to-day’s mail this afternoon. One contained a receipt for this month’s payment on my war loan bonds, and one was a bill from the Times Book Club for those 6 writing pads they sent me in mistake. I had letters from Margaret and Prof Christie. The box containing the soap, etc also came to-day. Thank you ever so much. I still had a little shaving powder left after the last lot.

This is the 17th of Ireland and I haven’t so much as a piece of green ribbon to wear. It is a cold dull day with a succession of rain squalls.

There is nothing fresh about demobilization. It is not likely now that I shall be able to reach England ahead of my unit, but I hope that we shall soon be able to sail after that.

Christie sent an invitation for the two of us to be his guest in Baltimore should we happen to return via New York. It is very good of him but I fear we shall not be able to take advantage of his invitation as we shall surely land at a Canadian port. Christie said we could have the use of his apartment in Baltimore. He has been a very good friend to me and has sent me I do not know how many things during the war. Christie tells me that Mrs. Hubbard’s father is dangerously ill.

Margaret’s letter was written on March 12 the day of sailing. She says she would like to be in Calgary when we reach home and I’m sure I hope she is. It would be very nice to have her there with us; at least I have no doubt that you would be pleased to have her and I am certain that I should.

I see the Allies are taking over all the Hun shipping. That sounds promising.

Your devoted husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on October 23, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/10/23/belgium-march-17-1919/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

