Belgium, March 18, 1919

Dearest Emma;-

There was no letter from you in the mail to-day. In fact there were no letters of any kind for me. It is a cold miserable sort of a day and in consequence I may not be able to write you a very cheerful letter. We had only two patients admitted to hospital to-day and Major Dunham saw them. In consequence I haven’t done a blessed thing all day except get my hair cut. My batman got my surplus kit away this afternoon and had my new serge mended. Did I ever tell you that I burned a hole in it while standing beside a hot stove in the officers’ Rest House in Namur while on my way home from leave? Anyway our regimental tailor made an excellent job of repairing it.

Orders have come in that no more married men are to be sent on leave. All these married men will be sent on leave before the division moves and they will report to their depots in England instead of returning to France at the expiration of their leave. So far there has been nothing about officers but I have a faint hope still that something “may turn up.”

Must close now as it is time for dinner. Hope I shall hear from you tomorrow.

Your loving husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on October 27, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/10/27/belgium-march-18-1919/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

