Belgium, March 25/19

Dearest Emma;-
It was a real hard disappointment to fail getting a letter from you to-day. I fully expected one if not more this afternoon.
The weather shows little sign of improvement. Indeed the season is very like that of two years ago when we were out in billets practicing the attack on Vimy Ridge. I remember that it snowed or rained nearly every day in March. The cold weather continued on past the middle of April. I sincerely hope that the warm weather comes before that late date this year.
This morning we received orders to be prepared to move on Sunday March 30. If we move then we will be the first of the division to get away. As I said in my letter yesterday it will take us nearly a week to make the journey to Bramshott. We shall likely be 3 or 4 days at Le Havre.
Like you I am receiving next to no letters from Canada. I dare say all our friends have quit writing through their expectation of seeing us come home almost any day. I do not expect that we shall see Canada much before the first of June. I had a dream the other night that we were back in Calgary and looking for a house. I presume that is what we shall be doing soon after we reach there. How long would you wish to remain in Montreal? Of course if the railway men strike we shall probably spend most of the summer in England. This might be alright for me but I fear it wouldn’t suit you at all. You would wish to get home and settled before October at the very latest wouldn’t you?
Please write me when you have the time. I must try to write to Margaret to-morrow.
Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on November 3, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/11/03/belgium-march-2519/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

