Belgium, March 26/19

Dearest Emma;-
After I had written my letter yesterday some more mail came in and there were two letters from you, the ones written on March 19 and 20 respectively. However I did not hear from you by the mail to day.
There is nothing new to tell you regarding the probable date of our arrival in England but we shall almost certainly leave here within a week. It would appear that our unit will be among the first if not actually the first in our division to leave Belgium.
The weather keeps very gloomy and miserable. I shall be very pleased to see Spring when it does finally come.
Had a very short letter (1 page) from Frances to day. We should soon be getting word from Margaret, for I see that the Baltic is on its way back to England. It left Halifax on March 21. I am rather hoping that we shall reach Canada about the middle of May. Will that be too late for you? If we reach Calgary by June 1 we should be able to get settled within a month from then. I dream nearly every night that I am back in Calgary, and you my dear I may inform always figure prominently in these dreams. We were out house hunting the other night. How will you be for house hunting by the time we get home, rather sadly handicapped I fear. Will you or do you feel any resentment towards me as being responsible for your present anxiety.
Best love to you always,
Your devoted husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on November 4, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/11/04/belgium-march-2619/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

