Belgium, March 28/19

Dear Emma;-
Your letter of March 22 came to hand this afternoon. I am so very sorry you have been ill, and shall be most anxious until I hear from you again. And I fear that I shall not have any more letters from you until after our unit reaches England, for we go on the road the day after to-morrow. Our last mail from “The Field” goes out to-morrow morning. Unless I get a letter from you in to-morrow’s mail I shall not get any more on this side of the Channel.
What in the world brought on your trouble? It was the last thing that I should have expected. Well, so long as you get around alright again I shall be thankful enough.
I have had dreams about you during each of the past few nights and in all my dreams you were lovely and in the best of health. There has never been any suggestion of illness on your part. Two nights ago I dreamed that we were together in the “State Apartment” which you had engaged in expectation of my homecoming.
We have at last received our definite entraining orders. Our unit goes on the first train of the division, which leaves here at noon on Sunday March 30. We should be in Bramshott within a week from our date of starting. I shall try to phone you from there when we arrive.
I must close now. I shall look for a letter from you to-morrow. I am glad that Col. Gunn is looking after you.
Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on November 5, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/11/05/belgium-march-2819/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

