Belgium, March 31/19

Dearest Emma;-
I was disappointed in not receiving a letter from you to-day but had a telegram from Capt Bouck to the effect that you were going along well. Perhaps I shall have a letter from you to-morrow. If one does not come then I shall probably not hear from or of you until I arrive in England.
The weather keeps quite cold but the sun was shining most of to-day. I hope that we get warmer days for our trip to Le Havre. We are all to ride in box cars. If the weather is warm enough we can leave the side doors open and view the landscape as we tear along at the rate of 5 or 6 miles per hour.
A notice came to the orderly room to day to the effect that M.O.s would be allowed to remain in England for the purpose of doing post graduate medical study, this period not to exceed 6 months duration. I shall not bother with any thing of that kind. I should like very much to do some work in that line but my first great desire is to get free of the army.
By the time this letter reaches you I shall likely be in Le Havre and you may look for me within a few days of the receipt of the letter. I shall try to get my 8 days leave at once after we reach England, and thereafter will likely be able to get up once a week to London. I really do not think it would be worth your while to move away from London for the short time we are to be in England.
With all my love
Yours ever
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on November 10, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/11/10/belgium-march-3119/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

