Belgium, March 30/19

Dear Emma;-
Your letter of March 24 came to hand yesterday. There was no letter from you in the mail to-day. I am pleased to know that you are going along alright but am very anxious nevertheless, especially as I did not hear from you to-day.
You will note that I have not yet left Belgium. Our entraining orders were changed and we do not leave here until Wednesday April 2. We shall probably not get to Bramshott until about April 8 or 9. I shall write to you again before we leave here if it is possible to get a letter away. You need not answer this letter for we shall be away from here before a reply could reach me.
Col. Gunn’s sending for me will not hurry my home coming any, for it usually takes weeks to get a thing like that put through and I shall, or at least hope I shall, be in England within a couple of weeks at the latest.
The weather keeps very cold and wintry. If it were not that I am anxious to get to England at the earliest possible moment I should not feel so bad about our departure being delayed for the 3 days, for there is a chance of us having better weather for the trip than if we had started to day. We ride in box cars and the train journey to Le Havre will occupy about 40 hours. We shall probably remain in Le Havre 3 or 4 days. There does not seem to be any possible chance for me to get away from the division. The last three months outside of our leave has been an absolute waste of my time. I could have been doing something useful in either England or Canada. Why I have been held God only knows.
Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on November 6, 2008 at 8:00 am  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/11/06/belgium-march-3019/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. it sucks


Leave a comment